2nd EACB Award for young researchers on cooperative banks: Call for papers until 15th sept. 2013

The European Association of Co-operative Banks (EACB), in collaboration with its academic think-tank, is pleased to announce a competition for best papers in the field of co-operative banks. The competition is targeted at young researchers up to 35 years old (i.e. they should be born in 1978 or after). Co-authored papers will be accepted if all authors are up to 35 years of age.

Contributions will be accepted providing they are not already published in scientific journals or books by the 15th September 2013. However, papers that have appeared in working paper series or that will be forthcoming in a publication after 15th September 2013 will be considered. The submitted papers should follow the standard format of scientific journals, and should contain new and original work by the authors. The word limit is around 10,000 words or less. The papers should relate directly to co-operative banks. Papers that compare cooperative banks with other types of banking organizations (e.g. profit maximizing banks, savings banks, etc) are welcome. The emphasis is on co-operative banks, rather than other types of financial co-operatives, such as credit unions or building societies. The papers should be written in English. The assessors will be looking for contributions primarily from the following academic fields: economics, finance and accounting, corporate governance, or management. We are interested in papers related to the following broad themes but papers on other topics related to cooperative banking will be considered :

  • Regulatory challenges of co-operative banks
  • Co-operative banks and financial stability
  • Co-operative banks and social and environmental responsibility
  • Co-operative banks: innovation and the development of small business
  • Governance aspects of co-operative banks
  • Diversity in banking: the role of co-operative banks
  • Contribution of co-operative banks to competition in European banking
  • Determinants and impact of the transformation of co-operative banks into private limited companies
The selection criteria are the contribution the paper makes to the scientific literature, the rigor of the argumentation, and policy relevance.

The deadline for the submissions is September 15, 2013. The submissions should be sent  to eacbaward@eurocoopbanks.coop For inquiries, please contact the EACB secretariat, tel.: +32 2 230 11 24, secretariat@eurocoopbanks.coop

Scientific Committee

  • Panu Kalmi, University of Vaasa, Finland (Chair)
  • Rym Ayadi, CEPS (Center for European Policy Studies), Belgium
  • Giovanni Ferri, LUMSA University of Rome, Italy
  • Hans Groeneveld, Radboud University Nijmegen and Rabobank Nederland,the Netherlands
  • David Llewellyn, University of Loughborough, UK, and Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria


The prize for the best paper is 2.000 Euros. The best three papers will receive a special mention and will be published by the EACB. The prize will be awarded at end 2013 or beginning 2014 ideally during the 6th Convention of European Co-operative Banks organised by the EACB in Brussels ( to be confirmed).

Download call for papers